Skip to content
March 29, 2012 / hrafnkell

DIY 3w LED grow light – Cooling

I’ve sourced parts and information for my DIY LED grow light for the past few weeks, and it’s starting to come together. I will be writing a few posts on the build, this one being about cooling and mounting of the LEDs

For cooling I decided to use 40x40x3mm C aluminum profile. It’s 3mm thick and should offer plenty cooling for the LEDs.

I went to a local metal supplier and bought 2x 6m long profile and had them cut it down in 83cm bars.

This is what it looked like when I arrived home

Then there was the matter of cleaning the profiles since they had a lot of cutting oil on them.  A little white spirit and a few tissues and that issue is solved.

Next issue is how to fasten them together. I decided to bolt the profiles together. That meant drilling holes into the profiles, making sure to perfectly line the holes up so everything fits together nicely:

Then bolting them together

What I ended up with is a 83x32cm heat sink that will hopefully cool the LEDs effectively.

In the next post I will be detailing what kind of LEDs I’ll be using, how many and the distribution of them on the heat sink. A seemingly easy task that took me way longer than I thought it would.

Leave a Reply

